I AM A WOMAN

A woman with a voice is, by definition, a strong woman.

                                                              – Melinda Gates

I can soothe with my voice, I can stun with my words,

Like a gypsy I am free, away from the herds.

I can shine bright, much brighter than the sun,

For, I am a splendid woman.

Not always sublime, I can create mayhem,

I make mistakes and I do mend them.

I may not be perfect, but leave no work undone,

For, I am a wonderful woman.

I can be shy, I can be bold,

I am not a commodity to be bought and sold.

I deserve respect, like every other human,

For, I am a glorious woman.

Some people try to hold me back,

With religion and laws, my freedom they hack.

But I want to rise, above beliefs and religion,

For, I am an empowered woman.

My life is a battle, one I shall certainly fight,

I’ll struggle for myself, as it is my right.

Some battles I have lost, but more have I won,

For, I am a marvellous woman.

I may not be pretty, but I am beautiful,

I weave my life together like strands of wool.

I have many identities, but am proud of just one,

The identity of a ‘self-made woman’.

  • Pakhi
Author:

A Sagittarian in love with words...

2 thoughts on “I AM A WOMAN

Leave a Reply

